Emilie’s Playground

Last week we had the amazing privilege to be apart of the build and ribbon cutting ceremony of a playground built in Emilie’s honor by the Sandy Ground Project.  The Sandy Ground Project is building 26 playgrounds to honor the 26 lives that were lost in the Sandy Hook Elementary tragedy.  They playgrounds are built in locations all up and down the coast of New York, Connecticut and New Jersey to help in specific towns that were effected by Hurricane Sandy last year.  What I loved most about this experience was to see what Emilie loved most in life, which was giving to others.  Thanks to all my family for being there, the town of New London for honoring us with the location, to the New London Team that fought for it, Corina for all your help with the project and my family, to the volunteers (my Iowa ladies!) and the local high school kids, my church family for being there and lastly, Bill Lavine for pushing this project through!  We love you all!

Here are some of our pictures from the build!  I would love to take credit for them all, but I did not take most of them.  Thanks to my brother and Momma for taking on the job (and Robbie would be upset if I didn’t give him some credit for a few as well! ). These are all out of order because I did not beat my “computer” and it’s desire to make this difficult today.

Image

New London Crew

Image

Ribbon cutting. I love this little boy who is totally pushing us all out of his way. It’s a good lesson for Madeline to toughen up

Image

Our family’s hand prints

Image

The Choir at the ribbon cutting

Image

The ground breaking of the playground

Image

The Build!

Image

Emilie’s art work

Image

Samantha builds a volcano!!!

Image

Local children had made treats for all the workers and my brother Brady took them around to pass the goodies out.

Image

Local high schooler helping out. This kid was such an amazing worker! I was so impressed with him.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

All my family and friends! Almost all of them flew in for the event. Thanks Jill for your help with that!

Image

Image

All Madeline kept say was, “This is so cold!!”