Project Em Wk 6

Okay, yes… I know I have missed the last two weeks posting pictures for Project Em.  My camera was a the shop getting cleaned (and it was good timing… I didn’t feel much like taking pictures).  So I guess it was a good time for a break.

Image

This week as I was trying to get myself motivated to take some pictures, I thought a lot about the picture I took a couple of weeks ago of a hammer.  I explained how the hammer reminded me so much of my dad and building with him (as seen in the picture above).  So I thought this week I would do something similar and take pictures of things that invoked a memory for me of my dad.  This week I also have been helping my mom go through all her family pictures and compile them into photo books for her.  So I pulled out a few pictures that went along the photos I took this week.

Image

1- Memory: My dad took so much pride in working in his yard and making sure it looked amazing.  He was a hard worker and would spend hours and hours in the hot sun pulling weeds, mowing the lawn or growing vegetables in the garden.

Image

1- These are my dad’s work shoes he would wear in the garden.  He always left them here on the window ledge so he wouldn’t track mud in the house.  Since he passed, the shoes are still in the exact place he left them.

719371-7090-0038s

2- Memory:  My dad loved competition.  He loved competing in races every year (the harder the better!)

Image

2- Here is the window to his work shed with all his favorite races, brands and teams.  He passed the love for races down to me, but not the talent I am afraid.

Image

3- Memory: My dad loved anything that had to do with spending time with his family.  Christmas was one of those holidays and I have so many fun memories opening presents, cooking an amazing breakfast and so on.  When Christmas was over, my dad’s one job was to always take the Christmas tree down.

PE W6 1

3- It was hard this year to be around and see the Christmas tree still up in February, knowing that my dad wasn’t around to take it down.

Image

4- Memory:  If you needed my dad, the first place you would look was his “chair” in his room.  This chair is where all the important conversations happened.

PE W6 4

4- His chair.

Image

4-Samantha insisted on taking a picture of me in the chair (she was full of instructions as well).  I figured I should post it since I am rarely in any pictures.

Image

5- Memory: Last year I posted a picture around Valentines Day with Madeline’s hand in the shape of a heart.  This week I was taking some pictures of our amazing quilt my cousin made us with Emilie’s clothes (post about that later!).  While I was taking pictures Samantha laid down and asked if she could be in the picture too.  She stuck her hands out and insisted that she make a heart for Emilie.

Image

5- Here Emilie is in a dress that was used in the quilt above.  I loved this dress.  It brings back so many fun memories of little Em.