The Happiest Easter… Sort Of

So, today we were celebrating Samantha’s fifth birthday.  She wanted a big Frozen birthday party with all her cousins (since we are in Utah for a funeral this weekend).  The birthday girl came into our room early this morning smelling completely awful!  I looked at her big blue eyes and immediately knew something was wrong.  I jumped out of bed and ran her into the bathroom and helped her throw up in the toilet.  I then looked down at her pajamas and noticed it was covered in puke and other “bodily functions”.  Poor girl.  Not a fun birthday.

Image

Traditionally I have a photo shoot with my girls on their birthday.  Yesterday Samantha fell on a cement stair and hit head first.  Some things just can’t be photoshopped (and shouldn’t, so you can giggle later about it).

Image

Bruised with a fat lip and a sick stomach, Samantha is the most pleasant out-of-luck little lady.  She was so weak, she had me open her presents for her as she made quiet sweet comments about the gifts she received for her birthday.

Image

Madeline was in heaven because today was also Easter.  She loves Easter (I am sure it is because she has an excuse to be fancy all day).

 Image

I am so grateful for Easter.  I have such a whole new appreciation for the sacrifice our Savior Jesus Christ made for us all.  I think about Emilie and how grateful I am that I will be able to see her again.  I couldn’t be more thankful today.  Thankful for Samantha and her birthday, for Madeline and her twirling and for Emilie and the meaning she brings to each day of my life.

Image